Hey guys. Another FNG here.

I am here on a learners permit as I have been a pilot for the last 17 years and only recently have found a bit of time in my life to pursue my aviation art. My goal is to get better at it. My weakest points are composition and the likes as I am mostly self-taught.

My favourites subjects are WW2 planes. I have a great uncle that flew Hurris and spits in WW2 for 213, 145 and 417 squadron. He did 3 years and 2 full years in the Med theatre.

My passion is WW2 but have done some recent works for folks that are modern planes in settings that I refer to as "aircraft protraits".

Currently I work in black ink and acrylic. I would love to learn oils as I find the richness of an oil painting to be second to none. Oil will happen eventually.

CHeers

Paul Houle
24/07/2007 23:01:42
Glad to have you on the forum. You'll find this group to be fair and honest - I enjoy chiming in from time to time though mostly I just check in to see what's up with all the great artists we have on this site. It is amazing some of the names we have here who check in. Outstanding talent and they are very nice and give great insight.

Welcome again. Hope to see you here from time to time and good luck with your art.

Brian
24/07/2007 23:11:06
Paul,

No time like the present to try oils! I concur with your observation about them. They have a lustre that is lacking in a lot of other mediums. There are plenty of guys on this site to help you along the way, to fast track you into it. The value lies in some of the finer points in composition and execution.I was also self taught, but I often wonder how much time I might have saved with a mentor. I can feel the definitive Albert Houle MkIX coming on!

Cheers,

Steve
25/07/2007 02:56:46
Paul, a very warm welcome to you :)