Another new face

New Member greetings & introductions
Hi, guys. I'm Dan Zoernig.

This is one of my first posts here. I have been lurking for a bit, and am very impressed with the knowledge and interest that you all have in this topic. I am hoping to learn something on here.

I have been creating aviation illustrations for about 7 years using digital photography and photoshop as my standard tools. I can??   t draw and I can??   t paint, but I??   m not letting that get in my way. I love warbirds and as a Photoshop jockey in my day job since 1995, I decided to put my background as a photographer to work with my affinity for these aircraft and the men who flew them.

My style is somewhat different from that of the other digital artists on here who use simulator programs to render the work. Those guys have produced some pretty amazing stuff and there is no doubt that what they do, what I do, and what guys like Wade Meyers do is art. The end result is an image that tells a story and evokes an emotion. Art is art. The only difference is in the tools used.

My own style is to build up a 1/48 scale model of a given subject. I paint it silver and then digitally photograph it with a Phase One camera back on a Hasselblad body with a Hassey lens. The chip gives me a 63mb file (before cropping) and can capture it in 16 bit. This allows me to do all the coloring in Photoshop, and gives me enough pixel depth to move the color from silver to OD or anything that I want to. I can also adjust the color to reflect whatever is is going on around the subject. It is critical to select the environment first, then drop in the cut out image of the a/c. Backgrounds once upon a time were created in Bryce, but now are actual photographs that I either take myself, or purchase the rights to use. As I got further into this, I determined that digitally rendered backgrounds didn??   t produce the look I wanted.